US

DSC07436.jpg

VIRGINIA MARKUS

Co-founder

Author and activist, Virginia is an educator by training and has worked for many years with adolescents and young adults at risk.


Before her career as a coordinator of social and professional integration measures, she worked in a veterinary clinic abroad, where she was able to set up an adoption system for street animals.


After having given numerous conferences on the antispeciesist theme and participated in countless associative events, she published Industrie laitière, une plaie ouverte à suturer? at Éditions l'Âge d'Homme in 2017, after a year of citizen investigation on this sector. In parallel to this book, she broadcasts hidden camera images of a slaughterhouse and farms in the French-speaking part of Switzerland, thus beginning her militant commitment on a larger scale: media and public. Using civil disobedience, but also conferences, radio or television debates, she seeks to make society react for the recognition of fundamental rights to animals. In September 2018, she published a manifesto, Désobéir avec amour, published by Labor et Fides.

Since 2019, she devotes herself full time to the association's sanctuary, managing the entire place. In particular, she offers training to people wishing to invest in an animal sanctuary project and accompanies breeders in their professional transition.

IMG_1838.jpeg

PIERRICK DESTRAZ

Co-founder

Artist, he started his career as a drummer in the rock band Wooloomooloo (Sony Music) at the beginning of the 90s, then continued with the famous punk-musette band Explosion de Caca from 2000 to 2014, which will become Ze Grands Gamins in 2016 alongside the singer Henri Dès (his father). He also writes a biography on the latter (From son to father) as well as humorous and satirical chronicles for the satirical newspaper Vigousse, the magazine Femina and the public radio channel Couleur 3 between 2006 and 2012.

In addition to his musical career, he became an actor and collaborated with the Avracavabrac improvisation troupe in 2003, before writing and touring two solo shows (2015 and 2018) retracing the history of Rock under his stage name, Tonton Pierrick. In 2019, he will initiate an artistic project of a completely different style by covering his father's old songs for adults with the release of the album Le Temps Perdu.

His life took a militant turn in 2017 after adopting a dog and meeting Virginia Markus. He is therefore committed to the antispeciesist cause, as he's always been sensitive to injustice perpetrated against animals and humans alike. He is committed to helping people towards greater serenity, particularly by offering introductions to meditation. Since 2022, he has left the sanctuary to embark on a long journey by van.

NOUS

DSC07436.jpg

VIRGINIA MARKUS

Co-fondatrice

 Auteure et militante, Virginia est éducatrice de formation et a exercé durant de nombreuses années auprès d'adolescent-e-s et de jeunes adultes en rupture.
 

Avant sa carrière de coordinatrice de mesures d'insertion socio-professionnelle, elle a travaillé dans une clinique vétérinaire à l'étranger, au sein de laquelle elle a pu mettre en place un système d'adoption en faveur des animaux de rue.
 

Après avoir donné de nombreuses conférences sur la thématique antispéciste et participé à d'innombrables manifestations associatives, elle publie Industrie laitière, une plaie ouverte à suturer ? aux Éditions l'Âge d'Homme en 2017, après une année d'enquête citoyenne sur cette filière. En parallèle de cet ouvrage, elle diffuse des images d'un abattoir et d'élevages romands en caméra cachée, entamant ainsi son engagement militant à une plus large échelle : médiatique et publique. Usant de la désobéissance civile, mais aussi des conférences, des débats radio ou télévisés, elle cherche à faire réagir la société en vue de la reconnaissance des droits fondamentaux aux animaux. Elle publie en septembre 2018 un manifeste, Désobéir avec amour aux éditions Labor et Fides.

 

Depuis 2019, elle se consacre à temps plein au sanctuaire de l'association, en gérant l'entièreté du lieu. Elle propose notamment des formations aux personnes souhaitant s'investir dans un projet de sanctuaire pour animaux et accompagne les éleveur-euse-s dans leur transition professionnelle.

IMG_1838.jpeg

PIERRICK DESTRAZ

Co-fondateur

Artiste, il a entame sa carrière en tant que batteur dans le groupe de rock Wooloomooloo (Sony Music) au début des années 90, poursuivant ensuite avec la fameuse formation punk-musette Explosion de Caca de 2000 à 2014, qui se muera en 2016 en Ze Grands Gamins aux côtés du chanteur Henri Dès (son père). Il écrit également une biographie sur ce dernier (Du fils au père) ainsi que des chroniques humoristiques et satiriques pour le journal satirique romand Vigousse, le magazine Femina et la chaîne de radio publique romande Couleur 3 entre 2006 et 2012.
 

En plus de sa carrière de musicien, il devient comédien et collabore avec la troupe d'improvisation Avracavabrac dès 2003, pour ensuite écrire et tourner deux spectacles solo (2015 et 2018) retraçant l'histoire du Rock sous son nom de scène, Tonton Pierrick. En 2019, il s'attèlera à un projet artistique d'un tout autre style en reprenant les vieilles chansons pour adultes de son père en sortant l'album Le Temps Perdu.
 

Sa vie prend un virage militant dès 2017 après l'adoption d'un chien et sa rencontre avec Virginia Markus. Il s'investit dès lors en faveur de la cause antispéciste, sensible depuis toujours aux injustices perpétrées à l'encontre des animaux comme des humain-e-s. Il a à coeur d'accompagner des individus vers plus de sérénité, notamment en offrant des initiations à la méditation. Depuis 2022, il a quitté le sanctuaire pour s'engager dans un voyage en van afin de poursuivre sa vie de manière itinérante et libérée des contraintes.